UK MEPs sign joint declaration on Brexit

Cross party declaration commits to working together in the face of Brexit

A Cross Party Group of UK Members of the European Parliament has signed a Declaration committing themselves to work together in the face of Brexit, and have called upon continental colleagues to support their efforts.

Meeting in Brussels, representatives of the Green, Labour, Liberal Democrat, Alliance, Plaid Cymru and Scottish National Party were able to sign "the Brussels Declaration" stating:

We, the undersigned UK Members of the European Parliament, representing England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, declare as follows:

The proroguing, or shutting down the UK Parliament in order to limit scrutiny of the implications of a potential no deal Brexit is completely unacceptable. Limiting the opportunity for MPs to debate, vote and crucially, to legislate, cannot be the response to a referendum in which Leave campaigned for the UK Parliament to "take back control".

In the continuation of the spirit that UK MEPs have worked in since the 2016 Referendum we commit ourselves to continue to work across party lines and declare that it is vital that MPs do likewise.

We were all elected just four months ago with clear mandates. We are working together. We call upon our European friends and colleagues to assist domestic efforts in keeping the door open to us.

The Declaration was signed by:

Green Party

Molly Scott Cato MEP

Alexandra Phillips MEP

Labour Party					
Richard Corbett MEP					
Seb Dance MEP					
Jude Kirton-Darling MEP					
Neena Gill MEP					
John Howarth MEP					
Theresa Griffin MEP					
Jackie Jones MEP					
Julie Ward MEP					
Rory Palmer MEP					
Claude Moraes MEP					
Liberal Democrat Party					
Catherine Bearder MEP					
Caroline Voaden MEP					
Chris Davies MEP					
Phil Bennion MEP					
Jane Brophy MEP					
Judith Bunting MEP					
Dinesh Dhamija MEP					

Magid Magid MEP

Scott Ainslie MEP

Ellie Chowns MEP

Gina Dowding MEP

Catherine Rowett MEP

Sheila Ritchie MEP
Irina Von Wiese MEP
Luisa Porritt MEP
Alliance Party
Naomi Long MEP
Plaid Cymru
Jill Evans MEP
Scottish National Party
Alyn Smith MEP
Aileen Mcleod MEP
Christian Allard MEP
Recommended
News

Barbara Ann Gibson MEP

Antony Hook MEP

Martin Horwood MEP

Lucy Nethsingha MEP

Bill Newton Dunn MEP

Shaffaq Mohammed MEP



François Alfonsi warns of the change in relationships ...

15.03.2023

Press release



EFA welcomes €5 billion Brexit Adjustment Reserve

16.09.2021

News

European Parliament building Brussels © European Union 2019 - Source : EP



Greens/EFA debriefing of the plenary session

30.04.2021

Press release



EU-UK Deal: 'let's establish a positive framework for ...

27.04.2021

Responsible MEPs



Christian Allard

Member



Jill Evans

Member



Aileen McLeod

Member



Heather Anderson

Member

Please share