Turkey in Europe

Enlarged Bureau Meeting of the Green/EFA Group

Programme:

Sunday 31st October 2010

Arrival of Greens/EFA MEPs, guests and staff in Istanbul

Monday 1st November 2010

10.00-13.00 Üsküdar Hall Round Table: "Five years of accession negotiations and the perspectives of the EU-Turkey relations" (internal meeting on invitation)

Moderation:

Mr. Daniel Cohn-Bendit, Co-President of the Greens/EFA Group in the European Parliament Mrs. Hélène Flautre, Co-President of the EU-Turkey JPC

Introduction:

Mr. Joost Lagendijk, Senior Adviser at the Istanbul Policy Center

** Debate **

From EU:

Members of the Greens/EFA Group: Mrs. Isabelle Durant, Mr. Bart Staes, Mrs. Rebecca Harms, Mrs. Heidi Hautala, Mrs. Ska Keller, Mrs.Malika Benarab Attou, Mrs. Barbara Lochbihler, Mrs. Nicole Kiil Nielsen, Mrs. Ulrike Lunacek, Mr. Reinhard Bütikofer and Mr. Michael cramer Mrs. Monica Frassoni, Co-Chair - European Green Party

Mr. Marc Pierini, EU Ambassador in Turkey

13.00-15.00 13.00-13.30 Üsküdar Hall

13.15-14.45

15.00 Üsküdar Hall

15.30 - 16.45 Üsküdar Hall

From Turkey:

Mr. Hasan Cemal, Mr. Cengiz Çandar, Mr. Mehmet Ali Birand, Mrs. Ne?e DüzeL, Mrs. Delal D?nk, Mr. Etyen MahÇupyan, Mrs. Yüksel Selek, Mr. Ümit ?ahin, Mr. Ahmet Türk, Mrs. Aysel Tu?luk, Mr. Ufuk Uras, Mr. Murat Belge, Mrs. Serap Yaz?c?, Mr. Kemal K?r??c?, Mr. Cengiz Aktar, Mr. Sezg?n Tanrikulu, Mr. Jürgen Gotschlich, Mr. Victor Ananias, Mr. Yavuz Önen, Mr. Yusuf Alata?, Mrs. Yonca Poyraz Do?an, Mr. Zülfü L?vanel?, Mr. Al? Erol, Mr. Ayhan B?lgen, Mr. Murat Aksoy, Mr. Zy?a Hal?s, Mr. Oral Çal??lar, Mr. Gerald Klaus, Mrs Asli Aydintasba?, Mrs. B?rsel Lemke, Mr. Ömer Madra, Mrs. D?lek Zaptç?o?lu, Mr. Süheyl Batum, Mr. Lütf? Elvan, Mr. Kemal Ordek, Mr. Ali R?za ÖztükMr. Burhan Kayatürk, Mrs. Bilge Contepe, Mrs. Yazgülü Aldogan, Mr. Orhan Silier, Mr. Mete Tunçay, Mr. ?ahin Alpay, Mr. Mehmet Y. Y?lmaz, Mrs. Sebnem Karaucak, Mrs. Gülsün Bilgehan

Lunch break

Press conference

Mrs. Rebecca Harms, Mr. Daniel Cohn-Bendit and Mrs. Hélène Flautre, Greens/EFA Group in the European Parliament

Lunch debateof Mrs Barbara Lochbihler, Chair of the EP's Iran delegation, on Iranian refugees in Turkey - (internal meeting on invitation, Room Y?ld?z 2)

Lunch debateof Mrs Ulrike Lunacek, Co-Chair of the EP's Intergroup on LGBT Rights, on LGBT rights in Turkey - (internal meeting on invitation, Room Y?ld?z 1)

Opening of the Conference - public

Mrs Rebecca Harms, Co-President of the Greens/EFA Group in the European Parliament **Welcome address** by Mr Egemen *Bagis*, *Minister* for EU Affairs and Chief Negotiator

Energy security in Turkey and in the European Union - public

Moderation

Mrs Heidi Hautala, Chair of the EP Subcommittee on Human Rights

Keynote speech

Mr. Taner Yildiz, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources, tbc

Debate with

Mr. Necdet Pamir, World Energy Council Turkish National Committe Board MemberMr Christian Dolezal, Spokesperson of NABUCCO Gas Pipeline Üsküdar Hall

17.00 - 18.30

Tuesday, 2nd November 2010

9.30 - 13.00 Üsküdar Hall International GmbH Mr Sergei Agibalov, Institute for Energetics and Finances, Russian Federation Nuclear energy - an option for Turkey? - public

Moderation

Mr. Ümit ?ahin, Co-President of "Ye?iller"- Turkish Greens

Keynote speech

Mrs Rebecca Harms, Co-President of the Greens/EFA Group in the European Parliament Overview Nuclear Power in the World 2010 Mr Mycle Schneider, Consultant and expert on nuclear energy

Debate

Mrs Dr. ?ule ErgÜn Hacattepe, University Department of Nuclear Engineering Mrs Sabahat Aslan, Spokesperson of the Mersin antinuclear platform Mr ArIf Künar, Energy expert and activist, Ankara

Democratisation process of Turkey in the light of a new Constitution - public Moderation

Mrs Heidi Hautala, Chair of the EP Subcommittee on **Human Rights** Mrs Hélène Flautre, Co-President of the EU-Turkey JPC

Keynote speech

Mr. Gianni Buquicchio, President of the Venice Commission of the Council of Europe Mrs. Franziska Keller, Member of the European Parliament, Greens/EFA Group

Debate with representatives of the political groups in the **Turkish National Grand Assembly** (TNGA) and representatives of the civil society

Speakers

Mr.Bekir Bozda?, Vice-President of the AKP Group in the TNGA Mr. Süheyl Batum, Member of the Party Assembly of the CHP NN., MHP Mr. Selahatt?n Dem?rta?, Member of the TNGA and Co-President of the BDP Mrs. Serap Yaz?c?, Prof. at the Istanbul Bilgi University Mrs. Em?ne Ülker Tarhan, President - of the Association of Judges and Public prosecutor (YARSAV) Mr. Süleyman Çelebi, President of DISK (Confederation of Progressive Trade Unions of Turkey) Mr. Öztürk Türkdogan, **Human Rights** Association of Turkey (IHD) Mrs. Hülya Gülbahar, Member of the Women's Rights Association KA-DER Mr. Can Paker, President of TESEV Mrs. H?dayet ?evkatl?-Tuksal, Women Rights Forum of Ankara Mr. Sezg?n Tanrikulu, Lawer, Human Rights Foundation of Turkey Mr. Al? Balkiz, President of the Alevi and Bektashi Association

13.30 - 15.00 12.00 - 13.30 Üsküdar Hall Lunch break
The question of "European Culture" - public

Moderation

Mrs Hélène Flautre, Co-President of the EU-Turkey JPC

Mr. Mehmet Ali Birand, Journalist

Debate

Mr. Daniel Cohn-Bendit, Co-President of the Greens/EFA Group in the European Parliament

Mrs. El?f ?afak, writer, tbc

Mr. Jean François Bayart, academic Mrs. ?oanna Kuçurad?, philosopher

Recommended

Letter

© Alexander Briel



In Defence of Democracy

08.05.2024

Press release

https://unsplash.com/photos/a-long-hallway-with-a-bunch-of-lockers-in-it-ihl2Q5F-VYA



Final report on Hungary shows damning picture on rule ...

24.04.2024

News

European Union



Plenary Flash 22 - 25 April 2024

19.04.2024

Press release

https://unsplash.com/photos/man-in-white-dress-shirt-and-blue-denim-jeans-sitting-on-white-and-black-solar-panel-wmaP3Tl80ww



Greens/EFA secure ban on disconnections & promote citi...

11.04.2024

Responsible MEPs



Rebecca Harms



Heidi Hautala

EP Vice-President, Member



Barbara Lochbihler

Member

Please share

•<u>E-Mail</u>