EFA logo

Press release

Alfonsi elected co-president of minorities group in EP

The European Parliament Intergroup for Traditional Minorities, Languages and National Communities, which brings together MEPs from the Parliament's principal political groups, has undergone a change of leadership.

Two new co-presidents have been elected: Csaba Tabajdi from the Socialist group, and François Alfonsi of the Greens/EFA group. They take over from Kinga Gál, from the EPP group and the liberal Carl Haglund.

This intergroup is actively engaged in supporting stateless peoples and minority languages and cultures within the European institutions.

At a time when the EU is debating its future policies for the period 2014 - 2020, the intergroup will work to ensure that the promotion of cultural diversity is once again a clear political priority for the European Union.

Please share