Press release

en | de

Sakharov Prize

Award is signal of support for all women who oppose oppression

The European Parliament will today award the 2016 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought to Nadia Murad and Lamiya Aji Bashar.

The Vice-President of the European Parliament and Greens/EFA MEP Ulrike Lunacek, who is responsible for the Sakharov Prize Network, congratulates the prize-winners:

"By awarding the Sakharov Prize to Nadia Murad and Lamiya Aji Bashar, the European Parliament is supporting the fight against the terrorist "Islamic State" and their practices of brutal abduction and sexual enslavement of women. These two brave women are very worthy recipients. In honouring them with the EU's most prestigious human rights award, we also extend our support to all women who oppose oppression and enslavement."

Contact person

Phone Brussels
Phone Strasbourg

Please share