en | de | fr
string(2) "78"
Press release |

MEPs vote to protect free media in the EU

Today, Members of the European Parliament voted on the new European Media Freedom Act, aimed at protecting the independence of journalists and the plurality of media across Europe. The Greens/EFA Group has long fought for EU-level rules to address issues such as media market monopolies, the fair allocation of state funding and the independence of public service media and national regulatory authorities. The Group has managed to include strong safeguards in regards to the protection of journalistic sources. 

Diana Riba I Giner MEP, Greens/EFA shadow rapporteur in the Culture Committee, comments: 

“It is a known fact that media freedom and journalistic freedom is currently under threat, not just in the world but also within the EU. For years we have watched Member States erode free media and blur lines between public service and state media. I am therefore glad that we are today taking steps to safeguard journalistic freedom and independence within the EU. Free media is one of the fundamentals of a free and democratic society and cannot be compromised. 

“In spite of the big wins we have achieved as a group during the negotiations, the text regretfully does not include a complete ban on the use of spyware against journalists. We are also concerned about the privileged treatment some media outlets will enjoy as it may distort the market creating different categories of media outlets and may also open the door to abuses in the form of dissemination of disinformation on social media. The Greens/EFA Group will keep pushing to find solutions to these weaknesses in order to ensure a more transparent and plural media system in the EU.” 


European Parliament building in Strasbourg / © European Union 2019 / Architecture-Studio
European Parliament building in Strasbourg / © European Union 2019 / Architecture-Studio
Press release
Press release
Anti-Money Laundering, AML
Press release
Due Diligance Directive

Responsible MEPs

Diana Riba i Giner
Diana Riba i Giner
EFA President

Please share